top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSheri L Williams

labels are the devil. js

So, I'm one month shy of 2 years until 40. that's a lot huh? I turn 38 next month and that has got me thinking about labels.

Let me start with; I hate labels. Loathe them.

You call me a millennial and I'm liable to stab you with a fork. js.

The thing is, labels are everywhere and they're used whether you like them or not.

Makes me wonder what labels people give me other than the ones I accept because I must.

Wife. Mother. Writer. New Englander. Transplanted Southerner. Nerd. Reader. (I will accept these)


Again it makes me wonder. If I was walking around with one of those sad sandwich boards that was full of nothing but labels, what would it say? What do others think of me that I don't know about? What matters?



Would it say, HEATHEN or just anti organized religion? Or, feminist? (the normal, original kind. not the hyper, vicious ones) Maybe it would say LAZY in big bold letters. Or Bastard, cause my parents weren't married? There are so many things that I am, and labels do shit about it. I'm more than them. So are you.


As I get closer to that age, 40, the one that is supposed to mean something, I'm gonna make it mean that I reject your labels. I'm more than an arbitrary set of words. I'm me. Unique. There's that's a label I'll accept ;)



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sneak peek

I know it's been a while since I've made a blog, but life tends to get in the way. And man has life been gettign in the way lately. But I'm here to share a snippet of the story I hope to release at th

bottom of page