top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSheri L Williams

A writer's life - summertime edition

It’s summer time! Not only are the kids out of school, but daily the temps are hitting mid 90’s. Welcome to the American south!


With the welcoming of summer (don’t come at me, I know I technically have a few more days) comes the welcoming of trying to accomplish everything the same as usual, with the added bonus of the kids being underfoot, ALL DAY LONG!


(one of our favorite ways to kill the boredom is chilling at the creek)


Don’t get me wrong, I love my kids. If they could be home all the time, I would love it. But getting things done, when they’re bored out of their minds, 3 days into summer break? That’s a lot.


You would think that after 8 years of this, I would have a system set in place, but yeah… I’m not that organized. What I have figured out in 8 years is that no matter how hard I plan, summer break means a break in the rules and a break in the schedule.


Some days I’ll manage to get some writing done before they wake up, but some days they wake up early with me.


Some days the middle of the day is best for trying to get some words down, but then they’ll want to play GO FISH UNO SUPREME and that takes the whole middle of the day.


Some days the evenings are my best bet, when they’re chilling in front of a movie or a game, and I can be present with them, but still sneak in a few words. And then some days it’s binge watching time and we consume an entire TV season in one day.


(have you ever watched Seven Deadly Sins? so good) (photo credit to Cris Zeldris)


Anyone who thinks that having kids isn’t the hardest, most amazing and most infuriating job ever, well they don’t really know do they? And that is the same whether it’s school time or summertime. But hey, my youngest is finally cleaning her room, so I’m going to try and get a few words!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sneak peek

I know it's been a while since I've made a blog, but life tends to get in the way. And man has life been gettign in the way lately. But I'm here to share a snippet of the story I hope to release at th

bottom of page