top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSheri L Williams

A hiccup, of the health variety

On July first I logged into the NanoWrimo site and set up my new project, determined to actually make it through a Camp Nano. I got a few hundred words in before I hit a snag. A block. A hiccup. On July 4th, well technically July 5th around 1 am, I went to the ER in severe pain and 5 hours later, left with a diagnosis of pancreatitis. It sucked.



It sucked for a few reasons, but mostly because due to Covid, I spent the entire 5 hours alone in a room while my husband spent 5 hours in a waiting room. I had to keep him up to date via text, while trying to deal with the pain and stay awake. Like I said, it sucked.


It continued to suck as I got home and tried to get better. The only real thing the ER doc told me was to stay on a liquid diet for 3 days. No mention that I might have a allergic reaction to the CT scan dye that had my hands and feet itchy and my fingers swollen. No mention that it might take longer than the 3 days to be able to eat anything solid. Again, it sucked.


So here I am, 13 days into Camp Nano and I am just now going to attempt to start working toward the 25k goal I had given myself. It's gonna suck, but I think I can do it. Maybe if you send coffee, one of the few things I was allowed on that damn liquid diet ;)

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sneak peek

I know it's been a while since I've made a blog, but life tends to get in the way. And man has life been gettign in the way lately. But I'm here to share a snippet of the story I hope to release at th

bottom of page